Quick Asahi エクストラシャープ Review


3 out of 5 stars.  And I’m not really sure how bright those stars are.  I also give a regular Asahi Super Dry three out of five stars.

For those of you who do not read Japanese, that title says ‘Extra Sharp’.  Yes, extra sharp, like cheddar cheese yet it lacks the sharpness of cheddar cheese.  I usually avoid talking about macro-beers (no problem drinking them), but I’m really perplexed by this one and want to say something, hoping to spark some discussion.

I gave this brew the same stars as I would its sister simply because I can’t tell the difference.  The flavor is nearly the same.  The dry quality of the highly attenuated SuperDry seems to be the same with only a negligible increase in alcohol.  What is the extra sharpness supposed to be?   Even higher attenuation?  Hops?  I don’t sense them. Both seem to leave no aftertaste and only whisper their presence in your mouth passing from lips, gliding past the nodochinko (Japanese for uvula), and slipping like a ninja down your throat. Can anyone tell me their impressions and where I’m going wrong?

I must say that the Super Dry is not a terrible brew among the macro-brews of Japan.  In a way, Super Dry is a yard stick on judging craft beer.  If the more expensive craft beer doesn’t taste any better than a Super Dry, then why buy the more expensive one?  But this one just feels like a marketing job. Nice try Asahi, the price point seemed to be the only difference.  I paid ¥199 compared with nearly ¥250 on a standard Super Dry.

Come out with an IPA, and I might try it.  But don’t expect glowing words.

Leave a Reply

