Summer Abroad, or How to Say You’re Going to Try a Bunch of Craft Beer but Only Get to One Brewery


Months ago I was stoked to go to my hometown.  I was going to see old friends and family.  I was going to see the sights and enjoy myself immensely.  I did.  I also mentioned a great desire to visit several craft breweries in the vicinity of my parents’s house.

I got to one.  I was all excited to get to Cigar City Brewery, 3 Daughters Brewing and Green Bench Brewing.  My time in Florida was passing and I found little time to get to any of them. I was worried but finally got to 3 Daughters.  It was a great place, and I soon forgot my worry.  It was just that great.  I had a sampler and wandered around a bit.  The taproom is a comfortable wood bar with another table to the side.  

 

Bar with friendly staff

Bar with friendly staff .

 
There are board games and cards for people to freely play, and walking down to the restrooms, I found a room with table tennis across from the yeast lab.  They are not wasting space.

The open area next to the brewery equipment and machinery is a large open seating area with more games and live music.  I had finished the sampler and was now on a pint of weizen that went perfect with the laid back atmosphere of the space.

 

Live blues, giant Jenga, and other diversions

Live blues, giant Jenga, and other diversions

  
 
The sampler:

 

a nice pumpkin ale and a good red ale

  

my new IPA favorite: the Bimini Twist; and awesome stout

 

Leave a Reply

