Comparative Beering


A SMaSH is a simple home brew:  Single Malt, Single Hop.  It’s a way to study the characteristics of one type of malt and one type of hop in a simple beer.  You can really concentrate on how malt and hop waltz across your tongue and linger, possibly, intimately in the back of the mouth.

I didn’t make a SMaSH.  I made a SMaTH.  It was a simple.  I just mis-measured.  I though I had enough Cascade hops; I wasn’t quite there.  I had to add a bit of Centennial just to get the IBUs to an acceptable level.  That is why it’s Two Hops.

I also didn’t use a neutral yeast.  I should have used a S-04 or something similar.  It wouldn’t affect the flavor much.  I used a Belgian yeast, a yeast that ended up dropping hints of banana into the brew.

I could have written about this little experiment a month or so ago but I wanted time to let it mature a bit.  I also wanted to be able to taste it at various stages of development.

The initial impression is of a very light beer with slightly higher than Budweiser or Miller level hops.  I figured out, and it was later commented on by friends, that the slight hoppiness is probably due to the base malt only light-to-none body.  An inefficient mash is most likely the culprit.  I didn’t sparge the brew-in-a-bag mash so next time I will start doing that and seeing what the outcome is.  I liked the hoppiness actually.  My wife did, something she usually has a problem with.

As the beer has aged, it has improved a bit, though the flavors and aromas have mellowed.

In a few months, once the humidity and intense temperatures of summer have retreated, I will return to a new brewing season with some fresh ideas and improved methods.  One is the importance of sparging for efficiency.  I’m looking forward to it and the beers I hope to brew.

Leave a comment